History of Main Street

Main Street is a downtown redevelopment program at work in over 40 states and over one thousand cities nationwide. The national Main Street revitalization effort for historic downtowns was formed more than 30 years ago and there has been a statewide Texas program since that time operating through the Texas Historical Commission. The Texas Main Street Program (TMSP) is one of the oldest and largest in the nation, with more than 90 fully designated communities.


Laura Bush visits La Grange

Main Street uses a combination of economic development, infrastructure improvements, and community events to revitalize downtown areas. The Texas Historical Commission administers the Texas Main Street Program and designated La Grange as a Main Street city in January of 1996.  We have our very own La Grange community leaders: Scott Byler, Michael Corker, Cliff Gage, and Betty Schmidt to thank for all of their hard work and perseverance.

To celebrate the designation, Texas’ First Lady, Laura Bush, Jan Bullock and many other state officials held a dedication ceremony for La Grange as an official Main Street City.  The La Grange High School Band and as many citizens as could, made their way into a standing room only ceremony in the newly restored District Courtroom of the historic Fayette County Courthouse.

Simply put, our local Main Street program is here to help out the community of La Grange through historic preservation efforts and promoting the city through downtown events.